New Year’s Re(v)olution

Posted: December 29, 2009 in Uncategorized, Writing
Tags: , ,

Forget New Year’s resolutions…This year I’m scheming a writers’ revolution.

Scribblers, let’s shake things up out there.

Are you with me?!

If so, grab a megaphone and repeat after me:

“In 2010, my goal is not to get an agent and publish a book. My goal is to grow and learn enough to write a book worthy of esteem, a book worthy of the best agent and the most discerning publisher. I take this oath as a sacred trust, and I shall toil until my manuscript shines like the sun and lays waste to the spurn of rejection.”

Viva La Revolución!

Hungry for more?

Try my homemade Chocolate Lava Sauce. You’ll need more than a few spoonfuls on hand to get through all the pints of Haagen-Dazs you’ll scarf down while hunched over the keyboard this year.

Chocolate Lava Sauce

3/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup butter

2 Tbsp. cornstarch

2 Tbsp. cocoa

2 Tbsp. light Karo corn syrup

2 Tbsp. vanilla

1/4 cup cream

Combine all ingredients except vanilla in a medium saucepan. Bring to a gradual boil. Do not scorch, but allow sauce to boil for two minutes. Remove from heat. Add vanilla. Allow to cool slightly.

Binge!

P.S. Congratulations to Jemi Fraser, who won a copy of Gil’s All Fright Diner!


Comments
  1. Jemi Fraser says:

    LOVE the goal, Jenny! I’ll shout it out with you 🙂

    I think I just gained a few pounds reading your recipe – can’t wait to try it!!

    And I won?? I never win! Wahoo!!

  2. jmartinlibrarian says:

    Jemi, you are like the blog fairy. I never feel like my posts are real until you shower your magical fairy dust over them. Your kindness and encouragement are appreciated! E-mail me an address and I’ll send your book.

  3. Jemi Fraser says:

    You’re such a sweetie!! Thanks 🙂

  4. catwoods says:

    Bah humbug on the resolutions, I’m all for the revolution!

    I think too often we make “get published” a goal. We forget that this is completely out of our control. Rather, we need to focus, as you so eloquently stated in your battle cry, on the process.

    I will write, I will hone and I will make my manuscripts shine!

    Thanks for the reminder on keeping it real.

  5. J. Martin says:

    Right on, Cat!

    I do think we lose sight of what matters sometimes. And I try to remember that any worthwhile goal demands persistence and focused effort. We are on this road together; thanks for your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

